Not To Be Trusted With Knives











{July 14, 2008}   I’m away from Vancouver on vacation for one day…

…and the whole place goes to hell in a handbasket!

BC Hydro’s site lists 20 outages in Vancouver right now, all either due to “cable fault” or as “under investigation.” although the CBC tells us:

The fire started when underground power lines caught fire and caused an explosion beneath Richards Street, between West Pender and Dunsmuir streets, around 9 a.m. PT.

The explosion blew a manhole cover into the air and filled the business district with smoke, but fire officials said the smoke was not toxic. The fire was extinguished around noon. (Source: CBC)

Yeah, I’d say if the cables are ON FIRE, that’s probably a “cable fault.”

Needless to say, I’m happy to be here right now:

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to lounge by the pool!

I wish i was up in Whistler right about now (assuming that’s creekside). You should look at going up to th peak. Some pretty spectacular views from up there!



Beth says:

I’m actually at Sun Peaks. I’ve never been here before – it’s really nice…. sort of Whistler-lite.



Kalev says:

Typical media overblow: didn’t affect me or my power/Internet. Thank the gods: today was hard enough as it was. If there had been power issues or Internet problems, I would have probably started screaming and randomly killing people on the street.



Kalev says:

Oh… it missed me by a block. Thank goodness!



[…] of my Prime Ministerial series. In fairness, I was on vacation for both three Sundays ago (Sun Peaks) and two Sundays ago (San Fran) and this past Sunday (i.e., yesterday) was hockey playoffs. […]



Comments are closed.

et cetera
